Your Filevine user calendar can be shared, or synced, with either your Google Calendar or your Office 365 calendar. Your calendar can also be shared with other users in Filevine.
Sharing Your User Calendar
Your user calendar in Filevine can be shared and synced with either your Google or Office 365 calendar. Syncing your calendar with either Google or Office 365 will allow you to share your calendar with others from Filevine and to share events from your calendar on a Filevine project’s calendar.
When your calendar is linked to your Google or Office 365 account, it will share the events on your user calendar in Filevine. Sharing your calendar is useful for people who rely on Google or Office 365 calendar.
The events listed in your Google or Office 365 calendar will also appear on your user calendar in Filevine. If you are sharing with a google calendar, only the events from your primary Google calendar will be shared in your Filevine calendar. Additional calendars like a birthday or co-worker’s calendar will not be shared.
This sync is a 1.5-way sync, meaning that events added in one calendar will also appear in the synced calendar, and that events added in Filevine can be edited in the Google/Outlook calendar. The suggested best practice is to use either the Filevine or the Google/Outlook calendar to view events, and to edit or change events only in the Google/Outlook calendar. (Deadline Chain calendar events are an exception and cannot be edited in a calendar. They must be changed on the deadline itself.)
- Navigate to My Profile. Click on the main menu in the top left corner of Filevine and select “Setup” from the dropdown. You will now be in the “My Profile” section of setup.
- Click on the desired calendar. At the bottom of the My Profile page, in the “Calendar Settings” section, click on the icon for the calendar you wish to integrate with.
- Follow the steps. Google or Outlook will direct you to choose an email and ask for permission to access the account. Follow the directed steps and allow access.
- View calendar settings. Once the calendar has been added, you will be directed back to setup in Filevine. You will see your added calendar along with additional options for sharing your calendar with other users.
Share With Other Users
To share your calendar with other users, you must first set up syncing with a Google or Outlook calendar. Once this is set up, in Advanced > Setup > My Profile, under “Invite User,” enter the Filevine username or email of the person you would like to share with. Select “Invite.”
Be cautious when sharing your calendar. Anyone with access to your calendar will be able to view, add, and delete events on your user calendar and, by extension, your Google calendar.
If you have shared your Filevine Calendar to Google calendar, any additions to your Google calendar will also appear in your Filevine user calendar. To create an event for a project from your Google calendar, add the project’s email address to the event. To keep track of adding events, always add events through the Outlook or Google calendar using Filevine’s 1.5-way sync.
Sharing a Project Calendar
Users can connect the events on their external calendars (Google Calendar or Outlook 365) to specific projects in Filevine. To share project events, your Filevine calendar must already be synced with the external calendar.
Note: If your account's calendar integration was setup before Jan 17th, 2019, you will need to remove the integration and reintegrate it in order to receive the updated version.
Connect an External Event
- Copy the project’s email address. Search for an open the appropriate project. Find the project’s email address by hovering over the vitals and then selecting “More Vitals.” Copy the email address.
- Open an event in your synced calendar. In the calendar you have chosen to sync with your Filevine calendar, create a new event or click on and edit an existing event.
- Add the project email as an attendee. Paste the project email in the attendee section, along with any other event attendees.
- Send the invite. Make sure to save the events changes and send the invitation or changes. You may be prompted to confirm sending an invite to an email address outside of your business domain. Confirm sending this invitation to ensure that the project is linked.
After sending the invite, look for an acceptance email in the project’s Activity Feed to confirm that the event has been added. Typically, it will be added to the project within 15-20 minutes. The event will now display on the user calendars of anyone who is listed as an attendee and has synced the calendar where the event is placed.