This article discusses how to configure custom billing settings at the client level in Filevine. When a client is designated as a project’s primary billing contact, their custom settings will override Org-level default settings for that project.
Permission Required
Before you can use client-level billing, it must be enabled in the Billing Setup Advanced tool. Once enabled, users with Org Admin permissions can set up billing settings at the client level.
Client-Level Setup
To configure billing settings for a client, an Org Admin can open the desired client’s contact card and select the Billing tab. Enable the toggle: Use these billing settings for projects where this contact is the primary.
Once enabled, you can configure the following settings at the client level:
Rate Schedule, Template, and Terms
In the first section, select the default rate schedule, invoice template, and invoice terms for the client using each respective dropdown menu.
Deposit Destinations
In the Deposit Destinations section, firms with Payments by Filevine can select the default deposit destinations for payments toward invoices and project funds.
Billing Contacts
Billing contacts receive billing-related emails, like invoices and project funds requests.
In the Billing Contacts section, choose up to four billing contacts for the client’s projects. The client you are currently viewing is listed as a billing contact by default and cannot be removed. However, they can be deselected from receiving billing emails.
Tip
If a project’s main contact is different from the client you are currently editing, that contact will also be added as a billing contact at the project level.
To add a billing contact, click + Add Contact and search for the contact you’d like to add. The contact must already exist in your Org-level Contacts page. To add a contact that does not exist yet, save and close the current contact card, create the desired contact(s), and then return to add them here.
To remove a billing contact, click the trashcan icon next to their name.
By default, Receive Billing Emails is enabled for each contact. Uncheck this option to exclude a contact from receiving billing communications. At least one contact must have Receive Billing Emails selected. If no user is selected, or if no contacts can receive emails (because they don’t have an email address), then no billing emails will be sent for that project.
Note
- Contacts without an email address will display a warning icon. They will not be able to receive billing communications until an email has been added to their contact card.
- If a contact has multiple email addresses, all of their email addresses will be included on the email.
Additional Contact on Invoice
The “Additional Contact on Invoice” field allows you to include a second party on the invoice PDF, in addition to the main project contact. The chosen contact’s information will become available to be used in the invoice template.
To add this second party, make sure they have been added as a billing contact. Once added, you can then expand this dropdown field to select them.
Code Requirements
The Code Requirements section allows you to set custom billing code requirements at the client level. This option is useful if, for instance, some clients require LEDES invoicing while others do not.
Toggle Required on or off to make a codeset required or optional, respectively, for the client. (Codesets with no available codes cannot be marked as required.)
Time Entry Settings
The Time Entry Settings section allows you to set custom time entry defaults at the client level. This option is useful if some clients have different billing arrangements and, consequently, require different default settings.
Toggle an option on or off to adjust the client-level default settings:
- Create new entries as billable
- Create new entries as chargeable
- Create new entries in draft status
Note
If you toggle Billable off, Chargeable will be toggled off as well. Entries cannot be chargeable if the billable setting is disabled.
When finished, click Save in the top right corner. In the modal that appears, choose between the following options and click Apply:
- Apply to Client & Current Projects: update the client-level settings and apply them to all existing projects that use this client’s settings.
- Apply to Client Only: update the client-level settings and apply them to future projects only. Existing projects that use this client’s settings will be unaffected.
Heads Up!
If you apply to existing projects, this action cannot be undone in bulk. Projects with custom project-level settings cannot be reverted back, except by manually updating each setting within each project.
Apply to Projects
To apply client-level billing settings to a project, a project Admin can navigate to the Settings tab of the project’s Billing section. The “Billing Settings” dropdown shows a list of all contacts that either:
- are the primary project contact
- have client-level billing settings enabled (regardless of associated projects)
Expand this dropdown and select the desired client. For projects that do not require client-specific settings, select Org Default Settings from the dropdown.
In the confirmation modal, click Continue.
Heads Up!
This action permanently overwrites the project’s existing billing settings. The client-level settings will be applied to any existing billing items that are not on finalized invoices.
If the project had any custom project-level settings, they cannot be restored except by manually updating each setting.
Comments
0 comments
Article is closed for comments.