In the Team tab—an admin-only tab in Vinesign—Admin users can add users, disable them, or change their roles. Some steps are dependent on whether or not your firm also has Filevine.
Add Users
To add a new user to Vinesign, firms with Filevine should follow both steps below. Firms without Filevine should skip Step 1 and follow Step 2 only.
Step 1: Add to Account Manager (Firms with Filevine only)
For firms with Filevine, Account Admins can use the Account Manager tool to view and manage all users who have access to sign in to your Filevine product(s). Follow these steps to add a new user:
- Navigate to the Account Manager. Go to the Account Manager login page for your region (US or Canada). Sign in with the same email and password you use for other Filevine products.
-
In the Users section, click Invite. In the lefthand side menu, find and select the Users section. Click + Invite in the upper right corner.
Permission Required
Only Account Admins can manage user access. If you do not see the Users section, you are not an Account Admin and you will not be able to add users.
- Fill out user details and product access. In the Invite User flyout, enter the user’s email address, first name, and last name. Select the “Product Access” field and select Vinesign.
- Accept terms and invite. Read and accept the terms and conditions for adding a new user, and then click Invite.
The user will receive an email from reminders@filevine.com with the subject line: “Welcome to Filevine.” They can use the link in this email to set their password.
Once the user has been added in the Account Manager tool, a Vinesign Admin can follow Step 2 below to set up the new user within Vinesign.
Heads Up!
Make certain to use the same email address for the user in both Vinesign and the Account Manager tool.
Step 2: Add to Vinesign
A Vinesign Admin can follow these steps to add a new user within Vinesign:
-
Click + Add Team Member. In the right top corner of the Team tab, click the + Add Team Member button.
- Fill out user details. Enter the user’s first name, last name, and email address.
- Create new team member. When you are finished, click the Create New Team Member button at the bottom.
The user will receive an email from certifier@vinesign.com welcoming them to Vinesign. For firms without Filevine, the user can use the link in this email to set their password and access Vinesign. For firms with Filevine, the user can use the link to access Vinesign using the password they created in Step 1.
Manage Users
In the team member list, click Edit on the lefthand side of a user to update their information or permissions.
In the User Information section, update the user’s first or last name if desired. In the Additional Settings section, you can enable or disable the following settings:
- Enabled: grant or revoke the user’s access to Vinesign. To learn more, read the Disable Users section below.
- Team Administrator: enable this setting to change the user’s role from “User” to “Administrator.” Disable it to revert them back to the “User” role. Vinesign Administrators have additional capabilities: they can run reports, view, edit, and delete other users’ templates, and change users’ roles.
- Enable Private Templates: if enabled, any templates created by the user will be accessible only to themselves and to any Admin users.
- Enabled Private Jobs: if enabled, any documents created by the user will be accessible only to themselves and to any Admin users.
- Payments Disabled: for firms with Payments by Filevine, enable this setting to prevent the user from viewing or sending payment requests in Vinesign.
When finished, click Save.
Note
The Company Admin—the original signee for the account—will always have the “Administrator” role and cannot be downgraded to the “User” role.
Disable Users
It’s important to keep an accurate record of a user’s historical actions in Vinesign, even if they are no longer part of your organization. For this reason, you can disable a user’s access but cannot delete them entirely.
To disable a user’s access to Vinesign, firms with Filevine should follow both steps below. Firms without Filevine should skip Step 1 and follow Step 2 only.
Step 1: Disable in Account Manager (Firms with Filevine only)
For firms with Filevine, Account Admins can use the Account Manager tool to disable the user. This action prevents the user from logging in again.
If you disable a user who is currently signed in, they will be automatically signed out after one hour. After that, they will be unable to sign back in.
If you need to remove a user immediately, an Account Admin can manually reset their password and MFA in addition to disabling their access. If possible, change the password to their company email as well.
Step 2: Disable in Vinesign
A Vinesign Admin can follow these steps to disable a user’s access within Vinesign:
- Edit the user. In the team member list, click Edit on the lefthand side of the user.
- Uncheck “Enabled.” In the Additional Settings section, uncheck the Enabled checkbox.
- Save.
The user’s status will change to Disabled in the team member list. They will no longer be able to access Vinesign.
Comments
0 comments
Article is closed for comments.