Task based billing allows users to create time entries associated with a task in a project’s activity feed. Time details can be added to a task, and the task and time information can be added as a time entry when the task is marked complete.
In the activity feed’s Write a note box, you will see the save button directly under the textbox on the left, along with icons for texting, file attachment, and billing time capture.
If you have texting turned on for this project, you can click on the text bubble icon to bring up the options for texting, and fill them out.
Click on the upload icon to upload and attach a document or to attach a document from the project to the item.
Click the clock icon to open the options for adding time details to a task. Since an item cannot be both a text and a task, clicking to add time details will remove the texting option, and vice versa. Switching between a text and a task will not remove any changes made during the creation of the item.
Tasks with Time
Users can add time details to a task upon creation, or add them to an already-created item. The information will be added as a time entry when the task is marked complete.
Time details can be added to a task upon its creation or any time after. To add time details upon creation, click on the clock icon below the Write a note box and fill in any time information you’d like to add. Any item created with time details will be a task, even if no assignee is chosen. (If you do not assign the task to a user, the task assignee will default to you.)
Time details can also be added to a task at any time, even after it has been marked complete, by selecting Time Details in the task’s dropdown menu.
In the opened Edit Time Entry modal, add billing codes, mark the entry of billable or chargeable, and enter a suggested time, or leave the information for the task assignee to fill out.
In this modal, you also have the option to select Save as Draft and give the entry Draft status, which requires the item to be reviewed and saved before it is available for invoicing or included in summary totals.
When you mark a task with time details complete, the time record modal will open, and you will have the chance to enter or adjust the information.
Once you’ve reviewed the time details, click Save and Complete to add the information as a time entry to this project. The task information and time details will be added as a time entry, which you can view in the Billing Entries tab of the Billing section of the project.
Editing and Removing
The time details can be added or removed from a task at any time, even after the task has been marked complete and the time entry has been added.
Time details can be added by selecting Time Details from the item’s dropdown menu. They can be removed by clicking on Time Details under the task’s body to open the Time Details modal and selecting Remove on the bottom left. If time details are removed from a task after they have been saved as a time entry, removing the time details from the task will not remove the time entry from the project.
Article is closed for comments.