The timer widget makes it easier to record time entries in real time. There are alternative ways to record time, but for heavy billable users, the timer will often be the best fit. The timer is a draggable widget that overlays Filevine pages during a session.
The timer widget will appear for any member of an Org with Billing enabled. The timer will first appear in “minimal mode,” as a clock icon in the top left of your Filevine screen, next to the mailroom icon.
To expand the timer, click on this icon. Once you have interacted with the timer, for all subsequent logins, it will display in the view that the user last had it in: either minimal or expanded.
The expanded timer can be minimized again by clicking on the “minimize” button in the header bar on the top right of the expanded time. The timer will continue to be active if minimized. If the minimized timer is active, it will appear in blue. Click the icon to open to expanded view again.
An active timer will automatically load, so after refreshing or logging out and back in, the clock will continue as if it had been running in the background. The clock continues running if you close the browser or log out of Filevine, but will not continue in the incognito mode of a browser.
Moving the Timer
The expanded timer can be moved to any location on the Filevine screen. Dragging and dropping the timer will save its position on the screen for subsequent uses, though the timer may shift if the window size is changed. The timer cannot be dragged offscreen. If the timer is dropped offscreen, it will snap back fully into view onscreen.
When you start dragging, a backdrop will appear with six “snap points.” These snap points are six areas that have been identified as prime locations for the timer to keep it out of the way of content.
The two snap points in the middle will always keep the timer centered, the two on the right will always keep it aligned to the right edge, and the three on the bottom will always keep it aligned to the bottom, even after resizing the window.
Interacting with the Timer
When the timer is in expanded view, you will be able to interact with it. This section will go over the different pieces of the timer, how to use them, and what they are for.
Searching for a Project
The project box is where you will select the project where the time will be recorded. The project box will display the text “search for a project” or the name of the selected project. To choose a project, begin typing in the project box and select your project from the dropdown.
When a project is selected and time has not yet been recorded, you can click the project box again to search a new project. Once the timer is active or has begun recording time, the project selector cannot be changed until the recorded time has been saved or reset.
Switching Between Projects
If you have selected a project in the timer and have navigated to another, a quickswitch button will display and flash over the selected project. Hovering over this button will display the new project to the right.
Pressing the quickswitch button will automatically save the current timer's time entry, switch to the new project, and start the timer in the new project. A description must be entered to save the first time entry before the quickswitch is clicked.
Using the Controls
The timer controls include the play/pause button, the reset button, the checkmark, and the vertical ellipses options menu.
The green or black play/pause button will allow you to start, pause, and restart the time, depending on the current state of the timer. The red reset button will reset the timer and clear all information except the selected project. When you click on the reset button, you will be prompted to confirm:
The blue checkmark button will become clickable only when the timer has recorded time and has a description. Clicking the checkmark button will save the current timer to the project as a time entry. After a successful save, the timer will clear. If you are on a project page, that project will be auto-selected in the project box.
The vertical ellipses options button is a dropdown with the option to either “Save” or “Edit.”
The save button in this dropdown follows the same rules as described above for the checkmark button. Clicking the “Edit” option will open the “Add a Time Record” window allowing you to edit the team member, date, rate, time, and description. Learn more about time entries.
Writing the Description
The last part of the timer is the description box. This box appears below the project box and controls. A time entry must contain a description, so a time entry cannot be saved without a description added.
The description box can be edited at any time, but the edits will only be saved if the timer is active. A small colored dot in the upper left corner serves as a status indicator: green for successfully saved, yellow for has unsaved changes. A red status dot indicates that the description is required for saving the timer or that there was a save error.
To edit the description when the timer is not running, you will need to restart the timer or click on the “Edit” option in the vertical ellipsis menu and edit the description there.