This article will run through all of the steps to take when adding a new user to Filevine. These steps include are creating an email, setting up a profile and account, and choosing the new user’s permissions and roles.
This article explains different methods for adding a user at the Org level, which gives the user access to Project Hub and the Address Book, and allows them to make new projects in the Org. All Org-level users are billed as licensed users. Guest users can be added to an individual project in that project’s Team section.
Creating an Email
If the user you are adding already has an email, you can skip this step. If you are adding a new employee to an already-existing Filevine Org, make sure to create a new company email for this user before sending a Filevine invite. If an email that does not yet exist is invited, Filevine may view the request to make a user for a non-existent email as spam and add the address to the blocklist.
Filevine users are tracked by their specific user history, so a separate new user should always be added to Filevine, instead of changing the email address and/or username of an existing user.
Emails in Filevine must be unique. If you would like to give your new employee an email address that already exists in Filevine, the email address will first need to be changed wherever it currently exists. The email address can be changed in the Setup section, either by the user with that email or by someone with their login information.
Once the email has been changed, your desired email will no longer exist in Filevine. You can then re-invite the email address to Filevine connected with the new user. This method ensures that the history of the old Filevine user—any notes they’ve made, for example—remains clear and trackable.
Adding the User
Inviting the User
Note: Any users added at the Org level, including guests, will be billed as licensed users for the remainder of your current term. Because of this, guests should be added at the project level.
Once a user has been invited to Filevine, they will receive an email with login information.
Logging In and Setting Up
Once the new user has received an email with login information, they need to log in to Filevine. In the “Welcome to Filevine” email, they will click on the “Sign in to Filevine” button.
This will take them to Filevine’s login page, where they will enter the email address and temporary password from the email.
Once they have logged in, the new user will need to change their password and set up their profile and account.
Granting User Permissions
Setting Up Existing Project Permissions
Once a new user has been invited to Filevine and has set up their profile and account settings, the new user should be added to existing projects. There are three ways that this can be done automatically in Filevine.
To add a user to all projects with an Org indiscriminately, use the Existing Projects tab in the Org > Members tool. This method will add the new user to Project Hub, giving them access to all projects across the Org, including any projects that contain sensitive data. Read more about project permissions.
To give a user permissions based on the permissions of another similar user, use the Permissions Cloning Tool in Mass Update Permissions.
To grant a user permissions based on a project criterion, like giving the new user permissions on only projects with projected settlement values below $100,000, use the Mass Update Permissions/Roles/Primary tool in Mass Update Permissions.
If you use roles for custom task flow or for reporting, you will need to assign the new user their roles. The easiest way to do this is to add a role in the Existing Project Permissions tab of the Org > Members tool.
You also have the option to add project roles using the Mass Update Permission/Roles/Primary tool mentioned in the section above. Adding roles can also be done manually on a project-by-project basis in the Team section.
Setting Up New Project Permissions
The last step to integrating a new user in Filevine is to set the user’s permissions for new projects. You’ve added the permissions for this user for all already-existing projects. This step will set rules for any projects created in the future.
If the user needs access to the mailroom or Org Admin status, you can grant this access in the Org Admin tab of the Org > Members tool.