Anyone who needs access to a case must to be added in the Team tab. The team tab is also where that access is revoked. Changes in the Team tab require Project Admin status. This article is broken up into three parts:
1) How to grant someone access to the case.
2) An explanation of the different levels of permission and access.
3) How to remove someone's access.
How to add a staff member to the team
From inside a Project, click on the Team section on the left side menu. In this section, you can manage who is on a Team and what those Team members can see and do. To add a team member, click the “Invite” button in the upper right-hand corner. Enter their email address or @[Filevine user name].
You’ll notice that your invited team member is automatically designated as a guest user. Guest users are limited in what they can see and do. If your newly invited team member will play an active role in your Project, you’ll want them to be designated as either a Collaborator or Follower.
To change the level of access for any user, click on their card and choose the appropriate choice.
Team Member Levels of Access
Admins have complete control over the project. A project can have any number of users who have Admin-level permission. Here is a list of actions exclusive to Project admins:
- Change the level of access of any user in the project, including adding and removing a user from the project. This is done by clicking on the member's card and then selecting the appropriate action.
- Enable texting for the project.
- Edit a locked field.
Followers have general access to a project and receive notifications of the case's activity feed. While there can be multiple Followers, each case can only have one main Primary.
Primary: The primary leader on the project. The primary doesn’t have to be the admin, and the admin doesn’t have to be the primary. The “Primary” on the case is the person who automatic tasks are assigned to and is the person who will receive email alerts.
Collaborators are supporters on a project. They can access the project, search and find it using their Filevine menu, but the project updates will not automatically appear in their feed. Collaborators can receive tasks from a project.
Guests have the lowest access to a case. Guests are invited into a case and have no access to anything until the section or document is shared with them. Guest access is designed for clients and vendors who may need to add documents or clarify a point, but who should not have access to everything inside the case.
Removing someone from the Team Tab
Anyone who is removed from the team will no longer be able to access the case. The case will no longer be searchable. Any existing data from that user, including tasks and data entered into fields, will be retained even after they're removed.
To remove a user, simply click on their card and click "Remove from Project."